WINKLEPICKERS addiction 

Winklepickers are the iconic shoes of goth culture. By the way, those shoes was worn first during the 50s by both sex and rock’n’roll lovers. They are inspired by medieval french boots called poulaines. You can find a lot of winklepickers style even with heels. You can call also call them Spikes. 

When i was a baby bat during the 90s we called them “witches” and my dream was to have a pairs but i hadn’t the money to afford its. I was very frustrated. Now i catches my frustration.  

I have seven pairs ! I wore pikes everyday out of my artist studio. When winter come i add furry thermal sole inside in the way to protect my feet. 

5 pairs come from The Gothic Shoes Compagny in UK

2 pairs come from Goth Pikes in Germany 

Both shops craft very good products. Both are small compagnies, and as an artist i prefer support small brands like people can support my small business. Let me present you my collection: 


This pairs come from GOTHIC SHOES UK. It was my first one. They have straps with nice bat buckles. They are very strong and i wore it for long walk in cities by bad weather for exemple. It’s my “work” boots. There is painting on one. They are so comfy ! 


The second pair i bought are this one, very simple, laced through d-rings. They are very comfy too. I wore it a lot, you can easily quickly put its on your feet. With my pagan dresses it’s just awesome. They came from the Gothic Shoes UK. 


Those are a birthday gift. They are perfect for warm weather and the ankle buckles are beautiful. I wore it also for exhibition opening or classy events i must go. From Gothic Shoes UK


I just fall in love for those boots from Gothic Shoes UK. I love the delicate details of the leather work. They give my feet a goth folk look. They are almost knee high. 


i found those ones on ebay for very few bucks. They are from Goth Shoes UK too. Simple style with zip. The material is soft. And keep all cat hair around ah ah ah. 


The first pair i bought from GOTH Pikes Germany. I love the multiple straps and their high. I wore them for gigs, festival or parties. 


My last pair, from Goth Pikes. It’s their new style and i’m weak, i bought them. Very easy to wear for all occasion, with dress, with leggings, with mini skirt…. If you search a pair you can wear even at work i think those one could be the right choice. 

If you want affordable pikes some big brands like ASOS, Zara released pikes inspired shoes and boots. You can also be patient and find a good occasion on ebay for example. 

credit: Spontis

One comment

Leave a Reply

